Natural Science Collections Alliance

Our members are part of an international community of museums, botanical gardens, herbariums, universities and other institutions that house natural science collections and utilize them in research, exhibitions, academic and informal science education, and outreach activities.


NSC Alliance Board of Directors

Gil NelsonPresident
Gil Nelson
Director, iDigBio
University of Florida
Gainesville, FL
Trina RobertsVice President
Trina Roberts
Associate Vice President, Collections
Natural History Museum of Los Angeles County
Los Angeles, CA
Peter W. Fritsch
Vice President of Research and Conservation
Botanical Research Institute of Texas at the Fort Worth Botanic Garden
Fort Worth, TX
Rebecca Rundell
Associate Professor and Head Curator
Roosevelt Wild Life Collections
State University of New York – Environmental Science and Forestry
Syracuse, NY
Brian Atkinson
Assistant Professor and Curator of Paleobotany
University of Kansas
Lawrence, KS
John_BatesJohn M. Bates
Curator of Birds
Head of Life Sciences, Science and Education
The Field Museum of Natural History
Chicago, IL
Scott EdwardsScott V. Edwards
Alexander Agassiz Professor of Zoology and Curator of Ornithology
Museum of Comparative Zoology
Harvard University
Cambridge, MA
Gunter Fischer
Senior Vice President, Science and Conservation Division
Missouri Botanical Garden
St. Louis, MO
Douglas JonesDouglas S. Jones
Florida Museum of Natural History
University of Florida
Gainesville, FL
John McCormaclJohn McCormack
Director and Curator of the Bird and Mammal Collection
Moore Laboratory of Zoology & Biology Department
Occidental College
Los Angeles, CA
William MoserWilliam Moser
Collection Manager
Department of Invertebrate Zoology
National Museum of Natural History
Suitland, MD
Scott SchaefferScott A. Schaefer
Dean of Science for Collections, Exhibitions, and the Public Understanding of Science
Curator, Department of Ichthyology
American Museum of Natural History
New York, NY
Emily Sessa
Director of the William and Lynda Steere Herbarium
New York Botanical Garden
Bronx, NY
Garth Spellman
Associate Curator of Ornithology
Denver Museum of Nature & Science
Denver, CO
ThiersBarbara Thiers
Director Emerita
William and Lynda Steere Herbarium
New York Botanical Garden
Bronx, NY
Jennifer Zaspel
Vice President and Academic Dean
Milwaukee Public Museum
Milwaukee, WI
Executive Director
Jyotsna Pandey
American Institute of Biological Sciences
Herndon, VA
Scroll to top