Natural Science Collections Alliance

Our members are part of an international community of museums, botanical gardens, herbariums, universities and other institutions that house natural science collections and utilize them in research, exhibitions, academic and informal science education, and outreach activities.

Results of NSC Alliance Board Elections

Three new board members and two incumbent board members have been elected to the NSC Alliance Board of Directors.

  • Dr. Robert J. Baker was re-elected to the Board of Directors. Dr. Baker is Director and Curator of Mammals and Genetic Resources in the Natural Sciences Research Laboratory at the Museum of Texas Tech University. His research centers on genome organization and evolution biology of mammals.
  • Dr. Joseph A. Cook was re-elected to the Board of Directors. Dr. Cook is Director of the Museum of Southwest Biology at the University of New Mexico. His research interests include biotic conservation, historical biogeography, and systematics, speciation, and natural history of subterranean mammals.
  • Dr. Shelley James is an Associate Botanist at the Pacific Center for Molecular Biodiversity at the Bishop Museum. Her research interests include the flora of New Guinea, herbarium curation and digitization, and conservation genetics.
  • Dr. Gil Nelson is a Faculty Researcher at the Institute for Digital Information and Scientific Communication at Florida State University. He is also a writer who specializes in botany, natural history, and ecology in Florida.
  • Dr. Rebecca Rundell is an Assistant Professor at the State University of New York College of Environmental Science and Forestry. Her research focuses on the patterns of biological diversification and the factors underlying those patterns.

NSC Alliance would also like to thank outgoing board members Dr. Warren Allmon, Dr. Hank Bart, Dr. James Hanken, Dr. Leonard Krishtalka, Dr. David Mindell, Dr. Bonnie Styles, and Dr. Quentin Wheeler for their service for the past six years. Per the organization’s bylaws, representatives at large are limited to serving two consecutive three-year terms.

Results of NSC Alliance Board Elections
Scroll to top